First Time Kidding, Normal? *pics*

MrsBrooke

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I've never done this before, so not entirely sure what to expect... somehow, this doesn't look like the pictures I've seen or the experiences I've read about.

My doe has something hanging from her vulva. It feels like a long cord of pink, fleshy tissue. It is a solid piece, as opposed to mucous... like she's passing a piece of wrinkly skin. I felt it, but did not pull... she did not appear to like me messing with it. There is a little blood, but clotted.

She is a Spanish x Nigerian Dwarf doe. Three years old. It's her first time kidding, too. She has not bagged up and acted normal this morning. Ironically, she was the only doe we thought wasn't pregnant.

It's possible she is going into some kind of labor. I felt for kids and maybe felt one? The timing would be right if she is. About 5 months ago, she went in with our buck. We thought she was sterile, based on what we'd been told. So while we're pulling our hair out waiting for the other two to pop, this happens...

Any idea what am I dealing with here? :idunno

Your help is very appreciated.

MrsB

Attachments

• 20150914_200922.jpg
    20150914_200922.jpg
    124.4 KB · Views: 189

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
I don't think that is normal, it is nothing I have ever seen and I have had many many does have kids. If anything I would suspect a miscarriage. I have never seen tissue passed during a normal labor and delivery. But they are goats and I could be completely wrong so I would just watch her and assume she is in labor and see what happens. Good luck

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score
I'm stumped.