grass for goat pen

stevin

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
hello,
Im new to raising goats and Im trying to research as much as possible. this past fall I started my landscaping project and cleared an area in my yard that was wooded. now this spring once the ground thaws Im planning on putting up a fence for a goat pen that will be roughly 40' x 40'. as of now the area is just dirt and will need to be filled, graded and then have some loam brought in.
now Im wondering if there is a preferred type of grass that i should plant that will withstand the hoof traffic and also that the goats will be able to graze on?

thanx,
stevin

mully

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
They have not developed hoof proof grass yet :D especially when it gets wet. 40 x40 is not that big but try a good pasture seed. TS sells seed in the spring or you could order from Pleasant Valley in CA ...they sell many varieties that suit your weather conditions

cmjust0

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Astroturf? :gig

Seriously, though.. If I were you, I'd focus on drainage and preventing erosion, working under the assumption that the lot will never have any meaningful vegetation on it. If you have very many goats at all, it'll end up a dry lot because what they don't eat, they'll trample. If it doesn't drain well, you'll have a 40x40 mudhole...if it slopes too hard in one spot, it'll erode to nothing..

Gravel...riprap...perforated pipe...gutters on shelter roofing...terracing, if it's hilly.. Those things are ultimately going to be more important than the vegetation, in my opinion.

stevin

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
:lol: astroturf!!!!!!
drainage is one of the main reasons for the landscaping project.
after fill and loam the grade will have a slight pitch to divert any rainwater . the pitch will be so slight that it will be barely noticable.