Hallo

leatherzebra

Just born
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Michele. My long time partner Jason and I are officially 100% planning to get a pair of goats. Yes, planning, as in we're looking at a 2 year timeline. We'd like to keep for milk and the occasional meat (is there a breed that works for both?)

We live in a big house with a big yard in the middle of a city that allows us to have backyard goats (and chickens). We currently have dogs and a cat (and aquariums and a terrarium). I am a vet tech at a small animal practice, but one of our vets keeps horses too and has experience with other hooved-type-critters.

I know the first step of our plan is to rework our fencing. We're planning that anyway, so we're looking at jumping forward and just replacing our standard chain link fencing with something goat-friendlier when we redo it next year. (We're moving our fence line further from the street and moving my garden space across the yard.)

So I guess my very first question is, since most of the articles I'm finding are farm based not backyard based, can we keep the chain link, or do we need to replace it with something else? (We are not allowed to have privacy fencing on our lot because it is a corner lot.)

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score
:welcome I use chain-link for my goats and haven't/don't have problems with it...
Pygmies or a Pygerian (Pygmy/Nigerian Dwarf) are the first options that come to mind for good milk and meat production. They're also backyard sized ;)
I think it's Kiko? that's the standard sized dual-purpose breed? I'm sure there are other options that I'm just not coming up with at the moment!
Look around at some of the pictures on here and I'm sure you'll land on a favorite breed in no time! :D

leatherzebra

Just born
Reaction score