Hello from Southern Ontario!

RickyTheKnife

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
My name is Richard, and I am an apprentice butcher. (Mind you I may not continue down that road) I plan on raising animals on a homestead soon, but I haven't yet decided whether I'll raise pigs or small breeds of beef cattle yet. I plan on doing both eventually, but gotta start somewhere, anyway, I'm from Southern Ontario near Port Dover, and my parents own a 50 acre farm which we rent the land to, but if I have my way that will change. Still, I hope to move to the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia before the next decade, I'm happy to be on the forum, and I will soak up all information anyone gives me, especially regarding my choices on raisling pork or beef. I can't wait to meet you!

Last edited:

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Hey Richard! Welcome to BYH :frow Learning that trade will give you a fall back any time you need it while living in/near farming country. There are always new folks who will have need of the services of a good butcher. Don't see why you can't do hogs and beef at the same time... That will cover 2 of the 3 main meat groups for most folks... discounting fish... Anyway, glad you joined us! Browse around the forums :caf and jump in when you feel the call.

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome from New Hampshire! I vote pigs... OK I have pigs and am not a cow person so maybe just my biased opinion here! In my opinion pigs are easier and cheaper to get started with. On the other hand if you have 50 acres of grazeable pasture perhaps the opposite would be true.

Either way knowing how to butcher is a valuable skill to have. Welcome and I hope you enjoy chatting with all the lovely people on here.

RickyTheKnife

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score