how do i make my new goat like me?

justkidding

Just born
Reaction score
Hi there.
i am new to goats and new to this forum. I am wanting to get into goats and bought a doe yesterday with two kids at her side. She is very scared of people and i dont think she was handled much. I saved her from an auction. Is there anyway i can make her extra friendly?

bonbean01

Herd Master
Reaction score
Yup...bring a lawn chair in their area...talk to them, sing to them, and give them treats...works great with new sheep and will with goats too! Congrats on your first goat :) Give it time...she will come to love you!

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
bonbean01 said:
Yup...bring a lawn chair in their area...talk to them, sing to them, and give them treats...works great with new sheep and will with goats too! Congrats on your first goat :) Give it time...she will come to love you!
x2
Time and love.

lovinglife

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I had the SAME issue when I got my goats, they thought I was going to kill them and tried to jump through the fence everytime I got near. Only thing that helped me was getting a really friendly goat in with them, took one day and they were eating from my hand. Just something to think about if they stay scared.

good luck...

daisyjack

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
bring in fresh leaves and branches my goat love them and the will love you too if you give it to them

farmgirl01

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
The way to her heart is thru her stomach. It takes time. Congrats on the new ones.:D

Corrin20

Just born
Reaction score
That's how my doe was when I got her. All i did was got a stool, and went in the pen and talked to her, I tried to pet her when she came near, and gave her treats and fresh leaves. I did this every day and now she is very very friendly. It just takes some time, care, and commitment, and you'll have a new best friend in no time.