Lets talk CAE

Sweetened

Herd Master
Reaction score
Months ago I traded a goat with a guy I know. His dairy goat had kidded, lost the kid and he'd never milked her. I've been working for 3 months ish and she has refused to dry up. Because I like her so much, I agreed to purchase his other does and boer buck off him.

When I arrived today and picked up the goats, one has a knobby knee and is walking stiffly. I thoight about it and took her anyway because, frankly, my herd has already been exposed through the goat I traded for, who shows know issues.

From this moment, except for meat sales, until I get bloodwork done, my herd is closed.

From what I have read, there is no cure, I can't even find information about long lasting treatments that are effective. Theres some confusion as to whether or not some goats throwing positive, but who never show symptoms, are resistant or lucky. From what I understand, without having goats off the property for 10 years, it can be picked up off the ground.

The goat in question, it would seem, is due to kid within a month. Now, I can do cae prevention, still not 100%, and the kid or kids could potentially still have t or get infected from the soil if I understand things right.

Talk to me about this. If the tests come bacl positive do I start killing muh beloved goats, and then keep the land bare of goats for 10 years? Do I raise everything on cae prevention and move on when those girls are spent?

Opinions please. And though this community has never been belligerent, I ask that if your comment is better quarantine or shoildnt have bought her or whatever, that it not be said. The original goat was quarantined, but has been in the herd as she showed no signs of illness. I know the decision I made with pi king uo the other girls, however I believe my herd is already exposed from the original trade. I am where I am, now lets look at options.

Sweetened

Herd Master
Reaction score
Awful typing on phone. Will correct tonorrow

alsea1