Male rabbit with swollen, hard testicles + other q's

Sommrluv

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I'm hoping to not make this too long. I'm new to rabbits, my husband is not (4-H'er, grew up with all sorts of critters). We'd been considering getting meat rabbits for a while, and had decided last month to go ahead. We have two hutches, were looking online to see if anything came available.

A local who had dutches had advertised his for a steal ($65, plus two hutches & two cages, Bottles, etc). The ad was posted late at night and my husband responded early in the morning before I awoke, and went and brought them home.

I'm not 100% sure I would have purchased them, two don't look like belted dutches at all to me, and one of the girls is dreadfully thin, missing fur all over. They are clean of mites, ticks, and have healthy appetites and are mostly friendly, but skittish in their new environment.

I misunderstood the hubby and when setting them up in their temporary new digs (transferring them to our larger hutches so I can make repairs to the ones they came with) I accidentally put the two males together. In quick time, a fight ensued. I'd never actually SEEN a ball of fur roll around before. I separated them, and one looked untouched, the other had blood on his.....wee-wee. I kept an eye on the "bitten" one and he seems fine. That was Saturday. Fast forward to late Monday, and I'm trying to spend 30 minutes 3x a day to get them used to me, and handling them once a day. I'm looking over the unharmed Buck, and it looks like he has hard ridges on his very swollen testes( one was pink and softer initially). They are extremely hard and wrinkly to the touch, and look discolored. I showed my husband and he said it looked to him like it was an old injury. I put pulvex on it and returned him. As of yesterday evening, it looks worse (both testes are hard now).