My Boer Goats have diarrhea???

nstone630

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
My 2 boys are now probably 6 months old. They recently have started having diarrhea. I've wormed them, and given them some electrolytes in their water.

They feed off the 1 acre of land and I give them a scoop of sweet feed a day. Their water is changed daily.

This is my first try at goats, and I want to be very successful. I've read up on everything.

I'm just wondering if there are any other tips or good advice out there to help me keep these boys happy and healthy.

One "Smoky" is the dominate male, he is much larger, fuller, and more muscular. The other "Bandit" is smaller, and almost looking as though he's failing to thrive. I've had them both since 3 months old.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

alsea1

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
The first thing that comes to mind is cocci. If it is cocci you will want to treat asap as its devastatingly fast and lethal.
Also male goats are very prone to urinary stones. I lost a very nice buckling to stones last year. Since then I do not feed sweet feed to the boys. I use a feed that is geared for urinary health.

nstone630

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I've read the article you gave, thank you! I will start treating them today! What a scary thing. :fl

nstone630

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Already called my husband and told him we're going to Tractor Supply as soon as I get off work to go get that Corid medication.

Now my goats are friendly, but they are not too fond of being held or restrained. Any tips on giving the goats this oral medication?

Goat Whisperer

Herd Master
Reaction score
Can you get Di-methox? That is a better drug and you wont have thiamine issues that Corrid can cause. TSC doesn't carry it but other feed stores do. Where are you located?

nstone630

True BYH Addict
Reaction score