my goat is sick-newbie

storm1

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
hi everyone,
i am a newbie to goats and currently i have only one which i bottlefed.i am not new to farm animals,just goats.i wanted to get some more next spring.
anyway,as i said,she is a pet goat,very spoiled.she is 7 months old.she lives with ours chickens and ducks(thanks to BYC) and she gets out daily to graze.we have seventy acres that we raise our horses on but they do not like her.
she has never been sick before,very happy and playful.we took her on a walk with us yesterday throughout our property,some pasture,woods and a creek.she followed everywhere and we all had fun.she ate whatever along the way and i think she got sick from that.this morning when i went out,she was laying down as usual but didn't get up when she saw me.she made a weak bah sound.i went in and stood her up.she is wobbly.her eyes are sunk in and she is very thirsty.i took her out into the sunshine(it is cool here).i went and got her some electrolyyes,minerals and probiotics.i managed to get all that down becuase of the drinking.she takes a puse with every breathe and moans if i move her.
please help with any questions.our vets around here no nothing about goats.she had to eat something because she has been perfect from the day she was born and then suddenly overnight this happens.

thanks everyone for there help and being so kind.as most of you know if you are on this sight how one little goat can make you fall in love with them

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
If she ate something toxic you should get some activated charcoal to give her
Even if the vets don't know goats they should know how to deal with an animal who has been poisoned

heatherlynnky

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score