Newb Cage / Hutch Question

Contea

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am new to Backyard Herds and was hoping I could get some advice from you experienced meat rabbit raisers…

I have done a lot of research on meat rabbits and plan on getting started this spring with a buck and two does. I found a local breeder that I trust and had good references. However, the rabbits are large….they have some Flemish Giant in them so I am looking at rabbits that are going to be pushing 12-18 lbs.

Now, I’ve been getting conflicting information regarding the living quarters for these size rabbits. Some places say that due to their weight they can’t have wire floors so I would have to have wood floors. Other places say wire floors are just fine. Anyone have experience with rabbits this size and what would you recommend for the floors?

Thank you for any advice you can offer!

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome :frowwe raise Californian rabbits so their weight is around 10 -11 lbs on the adults.

How does the breeder you are getting the rabbits from house theirs? They would probably be able to give you some pointers.

How much space do you have to work with- you may want to consider colony raising them if wire floors aren't ideal. Just have a separate area for the buck so that you don't have litters one after the other. From what I see with our rabbits, wood floors would soak up urine and such and would have to be replaced frequently- unless you can litter box train the breeders.

Keep us updated and post some pictures when you get your rabbits!

Contea

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Hens and Roos - thanks for the reply. I sent an email to the breeder with that exact question, just waiting to hear back from him. In the mean time I wanted to get others opinions to so I can have as much information in front of me as possible.