"Pooch Test" Question

Hope A.

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hi y'all!
This is my first time on here, so I am sorry if this is a silly question!
I have 3 does, one second freshener, and two first fresheners. ( So, technically, I have one doe and two doelings. I think. Getting back to the point...) How long is it until you can tell if she is pregnant by the pooch test? They have been with a buck for a while, and we saw two of them bred for sure, so I am pretty certain that they will be kidding around Feb 18-20th. Thank you!
~Hope

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
If you saw them bred, I guess the Feb 18-20 is based on that date?

We've been breeding goats for 5 years now, and I'm not aware of any pooch test to tell if they are pregnant.

If they don't come back into heat they probably are bred.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Yeah, I have never understood all the pics of the doe's "parts" and pooch test... same as OFA, if the doe goes back into heat then she didn't settle. If she doesn't then she is bred. Most of our Nigies you can see a small udder forming at 2 months.

Hope A.

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
If you saw them bred, I guess the Feb 18-20 is based on that date?

We've been breeding goats for 5 years now, and I'm not aware of any pooch test to tell if they are pregnant.

If they don't come back into heat they probably are bred.
Alright, thank you so much! That had me very confused! I did see one of the doelings bred, and counted the days. Day 145 will be the 18th. I believe the other two were bred a couple days after her, but I am not sure, so I will be watching those two. When do you think they would start showing?