Shearing blades and their uses

Southdown

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
We shear our own sheep (albeit we are far from being professionals, it's more of a git-r-done). :D I have an Oster Showmaster. It came with one cutter and one blade/comb. It worked fine overall, but I need to learn what the different blades are used for. Our blade that came with the unit worked good for the main torso of the animal, but it was not useful for the belly, legs, or face areas. The belly area is so close to the skin and is often tagged and gummy wool. It didn't cut through those areas (or else it would have cut). I trimmed a lot of the bellies with a scissors. Legs and faces were a lot of scissors also. So my question to all of you shearers is, what are the different blades and their respective uses? What blades will work best for bellies, legs, faces versus the upper bodies?

I always look forward to how clean and nice the sheep look after shearing time, but boy I do dread the hard work of it all. It is so back breaking! :barnie

goodhors

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Tell us what blades you have, that worked on some parts of your sheep.

Have you seen sheep stands? They raise the height of the standing sheep,
so there is much less bending over while shearing. I love ours, use it for
shearing off the dog as well! You could make one if you don't want to
purchase it.

http://www.valleyvet.com/ct_detail....shopping.com&utm_medium=cpc&utm_content=28090

I just can't take that bent-over position, used with sheep seated for shearing.

Health wise, bending over at the waist to work using strength or lifting,
is about the worst postion for your back, VERY easy to hurt yourself. Our
Safety talks at work ALWAYS emphasized bending our knees to do anything
that required getting lower in body position. One interesting film kept telling
us "You are NOT A MECHANICAL CRANE, DON'T LEAN OVER. Don't try to use