Sooo,this happened

raeleigh26

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I finally brought home 2 little gilts, 8 weeks old, granddaughters of American badboy, not that I'm familiar, but sounds impressive. ..
They're doing well, so far (3 days) I was told the bigger girl was better quality and should be the one I keep, but she's a little aggressive, very very skittish, and takes much longer to adjust and learn than her smaller sister.
I'm still learning. ..this morning when i fed I noticed the bigger gilt was arching her back down. ...looked like she was avoiding an imaginary hand touching her back. . I thought she was going to lay down, or, Idk, chilling her belly in the mud, but she's still doing it. ...behaving normally other than that.
Is this an indication of discomfort? Belly ache? She's still eating, drinking, and sitting in the pool. ....just looks strange and I'm not familiar enough with pigs to know what is normal behavior.

raeleigh26

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Okay, in looking for an answer I came across a disorder called dippity pig. ...which may be what I'm dealing with.
I've watched her for awhile, and her dipping has become falling in her hind legs, she bounces right back, and she has no rash or lesions, but again, this girl is much less tolerant of changes, the move has been much more rough on her than the other, who is perfectly fine.
No squealing of pain, i haven't tried to touch her. they're both laying comfortably in the shade now, but I'm terrified. Any ideas, any advice, any suggestions would be helpful.
Edit:yup, dippity pig. She now has weeping lesions forming on her back. I've provided more shade, fresh water to drink and in their pool, and gave them some chilled cantaloupe rinds. I don't know how I can calm her any more than that.

Last edited:
Reactions: TAH

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score