What to give or do to lamb that didn't get colostrum but am bottle feeding.

mamasue

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Fond baby lamb outside in the pouring rain after coming home from trip. Mother gave birth early and died along with the other lamb. Took surviving lamb inside and am keeping him warm and bottle feeding. What else can I do. He is very wobbly and shakes a little sometimes after feeding. What else could I do. I am new at this especially at bottle feeding a new lamb.

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score
Do you know any other sheep breeders who might have some colostrum in the freezer? If not, you can probably find colostrum replacer at your feed store. I'd get some into that baby as soon as you can!

norseofcourse

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to Backyard Herds - I'm so sorry about the loss of your ewe and the other lamb :( How old is the lamb? Once they are a day or so old, they can't absorb the antibodies from colostrum anymore, but giving him some won't hurt. I've never bottle raised a lamb, but keeping him warm and fed is good. What are you feeding him? Lamb milk replacer or whole milk? I have read that replacer with soy is not as good.

Good luck and I hope he makes it.

mamasue

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Do you know any other sheep breeders who might have some colostrum in the freezer? If not, you can probably find colostrum replacer at your feed store. I'd get some into that baby as soon as you can!
Oh thank you for your reply. He is already 8 days old. Is it still okay to give him colostrum? Also he is sleeping in the house, in a big box with towels, at first I had hay, but that got really messy. We also have 2 jack russells and they are very inquisitive and know something is up. What should I do about a sleeping buddy?

mamasue

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score