Winter: better to raise a feeder pig in a barn stall or large pen?

theawesomefowl

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am a birdloving nerd, aka awesomefowl of BYC. I have 12 chickens: 5 layers, 3 goofy little silkies, and a pair of breeding Seramas.

I'm new to all of this, so i don't know the answer to this question, and my second reread of "Raising Pigs" isn't in at the library yet. LOL
We have a small fenced in area that was a garden, whihc still has some bulbs and solomon seal, but which I could possibly use for the pig. I would build a windbreak in it. If I was to keep the pig there, woulf any of those plants hurt the pig were he to eat them?

We also have a smallish (but big enough) stall in the barn we could possibly use. Which is better in the wintertime? I will hopefully get the pig this month, but in the spring I would move him outdoors anyways. The pig would only be here till about July as he would be a 4H project.

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
First of all, we have no clue as to where you live, and the climate where you are located. This would determine which enclosure would be more suited to your pig.

As to a 4 - H pig (again, we have no idea which state you're in, and states have different rules), but my children raised many grand and reserve champion pigs in 4 - H, and we usually got them born in February. This made them about the right weight in early August. We kept them on concrete, but they had a fairly large area to exercise. We fed them on commercial hog feed, and many of them gained in excess of 2 lb/day. Older son had one that gained 2.35 lb/day. This one weighed 320 at state fair time in early September.