12 week old Doe, not eating

ridingnaz

Just born
Reaction score
I brought home a pygmy doe and wether about ten days ago. They were eating fine--grain and hay. As of yesterday, she stopped eating. She is not very active, until I try to do something with her and then she is full of spit and fire. She stopped eating yesterday. I syringed water with baking soda and karo syrup to her. This morning still the same. I tried to bottle her this morning--that was a big no. I did syringe in some milk, but not able to get much down. She has had CDT vaccine per the previous owner. No swelling or bloating noted. She is passing gas. She just looks like she does not feel good. I am new to the baby goat scene and worried. Any ideas of what may be going on and what I can do?

ridingnaz

Just born
Reaction score
I brought home a pygmy doe and wether about ten days ago. They were eating fine--grain and hay. As of yesterday, she stopped eating. She is not very active, until I try to do something with her and then she is full of spit and fire. She stopped eating yesterday. I syringed water with baking soda and karo syrup to her. This morning still the same. I tried to bottle her this morning--that was a big no. I did syringe in some milk, but not able to get much down. She has had CDT vaccine per the previous owner. No swelling or bloating noted. She is passing gas. She just looks like she does not feel good. I am new to the baby goat scene and worried. Any ideas of what may be going on and what I can do?
PS. Sibling and other 13 week old on farm doing fine.

ridingnaz

Just born
Reaction score
sorry to hear that she isn't feeling right. Did you take a temperature on her to see if she is running a temp- normal range 101-102*

tagging others for you @OneFineAcre @Southern by choice @Goat Whisperer @babsbag @Ferguson K
sorry to hear that she isn't feeling right. Did you take a temperature on her to see if she is running a temp- normal range 101-102*