1st time

Blue Skys

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
It's my first time with rabbits so please be patient with me, but I got a breeding pair of NZW's and a Californian doe. I just got them over the weekend. I was planning on giving them a chance to settle into their new home, but was wondering should I wait until spring to breed them? They are all about a year old, so I don't want to wait too long, but I'm not sure if either doe has ever had a litter.

Goatzilla

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I would breed both does right now on the same day. Your chances of producing easy litters is way better now than waiting 6 months from now, especially with rabbits that age. If you have the ability to shelter them from the wind and provide good feed and water you will do ok. I live in the Northeast and breed a few does right through the winter in an outdoor enclosure. The advantage of breeding two does on the same day is that you can foster kits off to another doe if one isn't doing a good job or if one has too many.

Blue Skys

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I am really glad you said that!! The more I thought about it the more I was leaning towards breeding them right now. We have pretty mild winters where I am, so it shouldn't get too cold until they are a couple of weeks old, even then, cold is a relative term. I will try to breed them Friday I think.

()relics

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Yeah contrary to the previous info...Spring kindlings are much more productive than fall/winter kindlings....Not knowing what part of the world you live in...and not knowing exactly the condition of your potential breeders....Check my post in the birthing/weaning/etc section....This is just my opinion....BUT I have done it many times....Ideally I would wait until spring....again JMO

Goatzilla

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score