2 Hereford calves added?

Hunt4farm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I'm new to site.
I live in ne Ohio on 20 acres.
We have 2 myotonic goats( we got them to see how we liked taking care of animals)not for meat.
We are getting 2 Hereford calves in a month or so, either to eventually butcher one or both when filled out.
Or we may keep them intact to breed and butcher offspring.
I am expanding our goat barn area from 10' by 12' to 10' by 25', with 120 gallon water trough fed underground ( 4' deep) on a simple float valve.
I guess my questions are numerous but anyone else housing goats/ calves, cows together?
Any pointers or tips that I can get from you guys will be much appreciated.
We have 6 acres in pasture I plan on doing rotational grazing with.
I don't want too many animals on pasture so as to destroy it...
I got 200 bails of hay( 6-1-2017) out of 3 acres first cut of alfalfa, orchard grass, some weeds I plan on using for winter months for all animals ( our 2 goats only eat hay in winter and go through 20-30 bails depending on winter)
I'm going to get second cutting on same 3 acres hopefully by mid August(8-15-2017)to add to 200 bales to pad my amount for first winter just in case of cold long winter, that's alot to absorb I know but any information will help us greatly.
My main drive to get our own freezer meat is our 15 month twins!!!

Simpleterrier

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Hay welcome from ne Ohio. Starting at they beginning. 120 gallon tank is to tall for goats. Housing them together is up to you it will depend on how you feed. six acres sould be fine for the two calves and two goats if it is the nice place u had your hay made. And sounds like u are on the right track with your hay. Are your calves bulls or heifers or one of each if they are actually twins and it's one of each you will need to plan on eating the heifer. She would have a very small chance of reproducing.

Hunt4farm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score