3 week old abandoned lamb

angy4000

Just born
Reaction score
Hi all,I have voluntered to keep an orphaned lamb for awhile. I have never done this before and am learning a lot. While its been fun, its also a lot of work.When I got her at 2 weeks old the owners were only feeding her 2 a day and feeding about 12 ounces each time so when I got her she was pretty sick so I reduced amounts and increased how often and that cured the issue. So now I am not sure how much to feed her and how often. The milk replacer says one thing and websites say another. I have been feeding her 5x a day every 4 hrs about 180 ml each time. I feel at times that is even too much as she may have a runny poop.So is this the correct amount to feed? I have also started introducing alfalfa hay. She is also now starting to graze on the grass in my yard.

Also she has been staying a lot in the house with us in a diaper and loves it. She does sleep outside and while she cries at first usually settles in quickly. Once in a while I may hear a cry in the night. I am worried I am doing her a disservice allowing her inside so much as she will eventually go back to the farm and become part of the flock.I am making her stay outside alone a few hours a day now and all she does is cry. Is happy as can be when I and the dogs go out to hang with her. When I open the door she is now the first one barging through it to come in.

So am I doing the wrong thing with her? At the farm all she did was walk around alone and cried. I just want the best for her and want her transition back to the farm to go well. I even thought maybe taking her back and leaving her for a couple hrs once in awhile.

Thanks for any advice you can give me,

Angela

alsea1

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I'm thinking that as far as she is concerned you are her mom.
Naturally she wants to be with you. She gets comfort from you.
She will adjust fine when you wean her.