5 day old calf not eating, not active... Cause for concern?

BigMac

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hi all, I am brand new to the world of bovines, so bear with me if I ask any repetitive or stupid questions... My family jumped into the world of cattle yesterday with the acquisition of our first calf, a 5-day-old Jersey bull from a local dairy. Cute as a button, but he seemed lethargic and refused to eat for hours. The wife and I got aggressive and decided we didn't want to chance him dehydrating in the heat of a Utah September, so we did an esophageal tube and loaded him up on 2 quarts of what our kids are calling "Cow-Gatorade", electrolytes and water. Two hours later, we gave him 2 quarts of milk replacer from IFA, again, via tube. By that time, he seemed somewhat more energetic and was willing to stand up and walk around a little bit with the kids, but soon sought out a shady spot in the weeds to lie down in again.

This morning, he seemed a little more bright-eyed. We continued feeding with the tube: 2 quarts of milk-replacer at 7 AM. 2 quarts of electrolytes at 11 AM. 2 more quarts of milk replacer for lunch/dinner.

He's been pooped bright yellow yesterday and this morning. Cows being cows, he was covered in poop. Kids being kids, they decided to give the little guy a bath! He seemed to enjoy the rubbing and hosing, and fought us only a little bit as we worked all the manure out of his coat. He even stood pretty still to let the kids brush him afterward.

This evening, he went right back to his choice little spot in the tall weeds at the back of his little "field" and laid down. He's been there for the last three hours now and doesn't seem interested in moving or doing anything.

We've had a 30 gallon pail full of fresh water available to him all day, and a little dish with about a pound of calf-starter. He's nosed the water a little, and sniffed the calf-starter, but hasn't eaten or drank anything we haven't literally shoved down his throat.