A MS girl with a love for Jerseys

Applevalley1

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hello everyone! My name is Jamie and I live in very rural Simpson County, MS. I call it the land that at&t forgot LOL. We are on 48 acres and I have just recently developed an addiction for jersey cows. I have been raising dairy bottle bulls for about 5 years now and finally decided to buy a nurse cow a few months ago to offset milk replacer costs. I am now up to 8 head, which includes a 7 month old jersey bull named Taz that I've had since he was 5 days old, a 4 month old jersey bull calf, my 1st big dairy cow Lorraine that is a 1st calf heifer(the best 1st calf heifer ever BTW bc she nurses her baby, my 4 month old bull, and gives me a gallon a day and had never been milked when I got her and from day 1 she let me milk her right beside her calf no matter if we were in the barn or out in the field. Couldn't have asked for a better starter cow), her 4 month old heifer Heidi(they are both mulberry jerseys), 2 6 month old holstein angus X heifers, a 10 month old mulberry jersey heifer, and a 3 year old mulberry jersey cow that is heavy bred and due to calve within a week that I call Boss Lady. I have 2 daughters and 1 son. A cowdog named Spicy that is 14yrs old, a 5yr old yard dog named Skeeter, my Itty bitty partner in crime that is inseparable from me that is a long haired chihuahua named Tiny that looks like a mini German Shephard for real and she is 3yrs old. I came here in hopes of finding someone with some dairy cow knowledge that will answer a few questions I have.

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the herd. AND we have the perfect cow person for you -- @farmerjan. Get your questions listed....I'm certain she'll answer you. A farmer & milk tester in VA.