Abandoned Goat - Starving? Worms? Not Sure...

BarnyardBlast

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
We have raised Nigerian Dwarf goats for several years. I can identify and treat simple issues. I know our goats well enough to know if something is "off" but I'm not a goat expert. One of our neighbors moved here about two years ago and purchased goats. (We live in the country and have very few neighbors). He contacted us a few days ago and said that they had moved. They wondered if we would take their goats.

We rode over last night and ended up bringing them home with us. There is a Nubian adult female with a 6 month old (approx) male kid (intact). There is also an adult female Boer. The kid is missing half of an ear from a dog attack. (They have lost other goats to dog attacks, including one that we put down for them because they couldn't do it). It was almost dark, so we put them in an extra pen near another goat yard, fed them, and left them for the night.

This morning has been the first time I could see them in the light. They are all thin with hip bones and spine showing, but the Boer goat looks alarming. The flank is caved in to the point where the spine is the widest area. I'm going to try to upload some pics in the next post.

She is acting fine - her tail wags when she saw me and she ate an animal cookie out of my hand. She ate well, but nervously. They would all eat a bite or two, then back up, look around, before eating another bite or two (and then look around again, etc). She is moving around. I didn't notice any sign of diarrhea. Her tail wasn't wet. I looked around the yard for signs of odd bowel movements, but saw nothing (it's possible I missed it, but all the pellets in the goat yard looked normal but a bit clumpy in some). She doesn't look to be in distress.