Abscess (possbily CLA)

peskygoat

Just born
Reaction score
I'm new to goats this year so Im learning as I go. I got to nubian sisters in March and we've been getting to know eachother well.

One of the girls started to develop an abscess in the summer and it was about the size of a baseball when I lanced it today. I suspected that it might be CLA and I think it was. The puss was white-ish and the consistency of tooth paste with no odour. She has is now separated from her sister until she heals. They don't like that arrangement at all but c'est la vie.

The goat in question is slightly smaller than her sister but that could be because she is a picky eater. Her sister eats anything.

I think the two are pregnant and if so then they would be due at the end of March.

My questions are:
1. Is it possible this isn't CLA? The person I bought them from tells me she has never seen an abscess in her goats before. If this is CLA I find that hard to believe.
2. Will the kids have CLA? Should she not nurse her kids?
3. Will she be good for milking or meat?

If you have any advice please let me know.

Thanks.

Roll farms

Spot Master
Reaction score
You have to have the contents of the abscess tested to verify CL.

TRUST ME, lots of folks lie about their CL status...otherwise nobody else would get it. She may not even know she had / has it if she bought a goat with it "on" them, and it spread it to this doe before you bought it.

The only time they are contagious is while it's open / leaking. Anything she touches is "contaminated"...the area where it was lanced is now "contaminated".

Once it heals over, completely, she isn't contagious anymore, but if it is CL, she will get more. You may not see them because they could be internal, but there will be more.

Internal abscesses can burst and cause them to cough, and each cough can spread the bacteria quite far.