Acceptable behavior for a meat rabbit?

Reaction score
I'm new to rabbits so looking for some advice! I have a standard rex doe who is just about 4 months old now. She was perfect until recently. She now lunges, growls and kicks whenever anyone puts a hand in the cage. As soon as she sees anyone the ears are pinned back and she backs herself into a corner. If you try to pat her she lunges and growls (hasn't tried to bite yet), but as soon as you start patting her on the forehead she is fine. Some days she is fine, others she is a nightmare! The cage is probably twice as big as a normal meat rabbit cage, so its not huge but definitely bigger than the normal size. I've been letting her run around outside and she doesn't growl or lunge out there, just inside her cage.

I've only had one doe before her. She was similar but would try and bite, so I replaced her but it seems I've ended up with the same problem. I have a buck who is perfect and never displays any kind of aggression, it seems to just be my does.

Are does just normally this territorial over their cage? Is there anything I can do to calm her down? When she started doing it I started handling her less, to the point where I don't pick her up at all now. Should I handle her more to get her used to contact? I'm thinking I might just need to put on some gloves to handle her inside her cage, or maybe find a calmer doe if this isn't normal behavior...

Missmonty

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I had a doe like that she stopped over time but from about 4 months old until I bred her at about 6 months old she was a monster (ironically she was also a standard rex). One of my other friends who bred rex rabbits told me to try breeding her as soon as she comes of age and it may help, I honestly didn't really believe her but it did help!