• No

Votes: 2 25.0%
  • Sometimes

Votes: 3 37.5%

• Total voters

Goats are Great

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have been raising and showing Nigerian Dwarf goats for well over 10 years. I have recently bought a buck that is almost 14% inbred on some really nice lines. This is the first time I've really started thinking about the % of inbreeding... And I realized I have no idea what is too much or what is an okay number. What do you guys think? My buck is really awesome and gave my very consistent kids in 2015. These are his first kids and none of them have freshened, but their conformation is lovely. I am very excited to see how they do in the show ring!

But on the flip side I also experienced my first taste ever of kids with fatal birth defects. I lost three of his kids... In over 10 years I've never lost a kid that hit the ground breathing... Until now... I've had a few that died prenatal and by a few I mean three... I raise about 10 kids a year. Is it his fault? I don't know? He's the only major factor to change in my breeding program...

Are the stunning does he gave me worth the loss? Only one death did I have confirmed by my vet as a birth defect, but I suspect the others to be as well...

On side note he gave me 9 super healthy and happy kids! They are growing like weeds!

Is line breeding worth it to you?
What combinations of line breeding do you like?

Last edited:

Ponker

Loving the herd life
Reaction score