Agressive Doe!!!

Ebers

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I am new to the whole rabbit situation. My grandpa raised meat rabbits when I was a kid but we weren't really allowed to mess with em much so I'm new to this

I recently bought a couple does at a poultry auction & when I got them home one of them is very agressive growling, barking, & even trying to bite sometimes. Is there anything I can do to tame her down or should I just chalk it up as a loss & try again? She appears to be a NZW but I can't be positive but I'd really like to breed rabbits both for meat & pets so any help with this is appreciated

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score
is it possible that she is pregnant? She could be stressed out from the change in location. Not sure how long you have had her but it might take some time. And others are just this way and nothing will change it. We ended up with a new buck, who was very stressed out when we got him and it took him about 3-4 months to settle in with us.

Good Luck! and keep us posted

Sweetened

Herd Master
Reaction score
We had an aggressive doe from an auction as well. We assumed, then, it was a male, tried it with a doe, it tried to kill that too. We ended up putting her in the freezer. We couldn't breed her as she tried to, litterally, kill the buck, so there was no point. Sorry =/ If you don't know if she's pregnant, wait a month from the day you got her. If no babies, then no pregnant.

Ebers

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
She had a litter of 7 about 11 days ago & she seems to be a great mother but she gets so stirred up at the sight of me I'm afraid she gonna hurt the babies jumping in & out of the nest box like she does. Do you think she'll calm down once the kits are weaned or will this just be something I have to deal with? I've had her for almost a month so I hope she calms down it's even difficult to feed her she tries to bite the feed pan or anything that moves for that matter & stamping her front feet

Sweetened