All three does moaning - HELP!

NicholsAcres

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Newbie here, we have 3 does and 2 bucks - Nigerian Dwarves.

We want to space out the breeding of the does to one every 4 months so we have at least one in milk at all times.

Trying to figure out when the does are "in heat" and can be bred. A day ago all three started "moaning" - not sure how else to describe it, but it is definitely a different sound from the "normal" baying they had been doing. But, it is hard to believe they all came into heat at the same time?

The does are 6 months, 1 year, and 18 months old.

The Bucks are very interested in them, but the bucks are only 6 months old and may not be tall enough to easily mount the does?

The does are "interested" in the bucks - they walk around the bucks paddock and rub on the fence.
The does are rapidly flicking their tails.
One of the does appears to have a discharge.
The does are twitchy - excited?
The does are moaning - a sound that is something like muwaaa...

Suggestions?

Are the bucks too young at this point?

TIA,

Frank

fluttervale

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
They will bring each other into season and will cycle at relatively the same time. It's the same in most species, like horses and dogs and even us humans.

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score
fluttervale said:
They will bring each other into season and will cycle at relatively the same time. It's the same in most species, like horses and dogs and even us humans.
Does quite often get in sync with their heat cycles.

Some can be quite vocal.

Some are more visible due to discharge, swelling, or pinkness around the vulva. Some are less obvious.

If he can reach them he is old enough. I would be surprised if he could not get the job done at 6 months old, particularly since an 18 month old doe is not fully grown.

Put the one you want to breed with the buck and find out.

NicholsAcres

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score