Aloha from the Big Island of Hawai’i

k2m

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Aloha kekou, hello everyone. We are on the Hamakua coast - lots of sun, lots of rain and nice breezes, sometimes quite strong.
We have a small herd of mutt hair sheep and we’re interested in increasing the flock. Hoping to hear from and meet (post vaccines) neighbors with sheep.
Keith n Terri

Attachments

• 7A6BAD4C-B2E8-4A2F-B724-6237590E0F92.jpeg
    7A6BAD4C-B2E8-4A2F-B724-6237590E0F92.jpeg
    421.6 KB · Views: 68

Coolbreeze89

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Welcome from Texas! I have a little bit of everything: some goats, chickens, muscovies, Kunekunes, and a few sheep: I have Barbados ewes and a dorper/Kahtadin ram (Soon to be neutered once I know the ladies are pregnant!). I’m new to sheep in the last year, so learning a lot here.

Niele da Kine

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Aloha Keith & Terri,

Howzit, eh? We're over in Honokaa, which is somewhere near you, perhaps. But, we only have two woolly sheep and the ram is a 'runt' and not - as far as we know - useful as a ram. Guess he wouldn't be much help with increasing your herd. If you have a ram with your ewes, wouldn't you end up with more sheep?

I know folks who have Clun Forest rams (woolly sheep) as well as Merino rams, although the Merino guy doesn't always sell his sheep. He might let you borrow one, perhaps, but the Clun Forest folks keep their flock strictly closed for health reasons. We got our two sheep from them, but can't take the ewe back to meet up with a ram since she's now left their farm up above Pauuilo.

Why not woolly sheep instead of hair sheep?

A hui hou

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score