altering male sheep

dbunni

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Okay ...

last night we had the vet out to do work on a weather goat who has decided to stone. I'm not looking forward to what is gonna happen today. Being a vet tech, my instincts are not saying good things (with what the night offered after the vet left). With that in mind. Do you have the same problem with sheep when they are altered? Increased risk of stones? If you do, can you safely run a pack of unaltered males? I'm looking for wool animals, not really interested in breeding.

aggieterpkatie

The Shepherd
Reaction score
Nope, it's not an issue with wethered sheep. :) Hope goatie is ok.

dbunni

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Vet on the way when he gets a chance ... he's blocked again. Bug** It's my daughters fair goat ... harness/pack ... he was doing so well with the training. Has the awsome "who cares" attitude. Not affraid of any of the objects. She's devistated. It's her last year. Mr. Trapper John and I spent a lot of time by the burner keeping warm last night.

rockdoveranch

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
dbunni,

Please let us know what the vet says.

I read with great interest the thread ksalvagno posted as we had to euthanize a Boxer dog, My Max, a little over a year ago who had a large stone trapped in his urethra. He suddenly was not able to urinate, and even though he did not let us know, he was in great pain. Surgery to remove the stone would have left him open to many problems and a poor quality of life. It was a horrible horrible experience to have to go through.

I know we are not talking dogs here, but reading this thread made me very sad.

I hope all works out well for your daughter's goat.

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score