Alternatives to Commercial Feed

Cindy in SD

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Hey, Folks

I'm fairly new to rabbits. We had them as pets when I was a kid. Not the kind of pets you have in your bedroom... they had hutches outside and liked running around in the lush Florida grass (or sometimes the living room, but I digress). Now I live in South Dakota, USA--not exactly year-round gardening country. It's less crowded here, though. I've been wanting to get started for a few years, but there just haven't been any meat breeds available. I finally put dibs on a trio of Rex mix when they're old enough, and I'll be looking for more to diversify genetics. I'm happy to provide them with commercial feed, but I'm not sure it will continue to be available and I would like to supplement heavily in any case, so...

I also have poultry. If you don't have too many of them, you can just feed them scraps--not ideal, but neither is starving. I'm wondering how realistic it would be to feed rabbits from the garden and pasture. I understand they need gentle acclimation to new (esp green) foods. I wonder what sorts of green and dried foods would be appropriate for home-feeding of rabbits. Surely people fed meat rabbits before pelleted feeds became available, but maybe not... Any advice?

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
Appreciate your concerns. Of course they CAN forage and live but, caged and several breedings call for serious nutrition. I'm not a rabbit raiser but, know proper nutrition will be critical. Once that's known, work from there.

I'm sure rabbit people will respond!

@Ridgetop, @Baymule.....others???? Input please. 😊

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score