Animals to acreage question

Lereg

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
As some of you know, I'm a newbie that wants to buy a farm, so the question is, what would be the recommended acreage for the animals that I want to acquire? As I know from the posts here that it would depend on different scenarios, I would just like an amount of acreage to be comfortable with. I have my number, but I could be way off!

Now, I wont be getting everything in one shot, but here's what I would like acquire:
3 pigs , 5 Nubian goats , 20 chickens , 4 ducks , 2 cows (preferably a bred heifer) , 3 sheep (maybe), Bees , and a couple of gardens.

I just want to get all the info I can now so I can find the 'right' place and not be disappointed at just not having enough property. Also, I may want to raise more than my starting figure is, ya know, that whole math thing, everybody keeps talking about!!!

thank you for your responses in advance!!

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
Honestly the cows are going to be your biggest land users! It depends on how you are planning to raise these animals too. Makes a big difference if you're planning on supplementing with hay and/or grain or trying to get them to live "off the land" as much as possible.

If you want everyone to be living off the land to some extent I would say maybe 10 acres plus. But others may have better ideas than me. My personal limit for my little farm is 5 and we have goats, pigs, chickens, turkeys and gardens.

Lereg

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I was thinking more for rotating pastures. For the cows, it wont be too much longer for momma cow to be in the freezer, after the weaning process, I hope! So that will probably ease up on me without having a constant 2 in there.
I'd like them to live off the land as much as possible, but also realize some supplementing may be necessary. I just want it be be a little easier on the wallet!!!

CntryBoy777

Herd Master
Reaction score