Arabian horses / New pic

dorothycoughlan

Reaction score
w c said:
So true, so true.

My favorite was one that I rode on a wilderness ride in Wyoming in the Wind River range. What a horse! What a great feeling to be on such an active, well balanced horse.

Mich and Pat, I do think there is a very extreme trend these days, not just for light bone and slender backs, but also for very extreme dish to the head.
Wilderness ride is one of our activity in wilderness programs that our camp offered that's why I love horses to. I am an instructor in our camp and I am the one handling the horse back riding with our students, teaching them how to ride a horse properly is the most favorite part of my students.

smoothmule

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
When I bought my SE AK Arabian mare, she gave the impression of being high strung. She had a history of being difficult and had only had one foal, at age 12, which she totally rejected.

Sounds like what I hear a lot of from people about Arabians.

Well, I knew how this mare was fed, a lot of grain to try to keep her weight on, alfalfa hay and little else. I knew she had been sent to a trainers and had been declared to be crazy. She was well bred, a smallish mare (14 or 14.1 hands).