Are these signs of labor? Is she even pregnant? 😳

valper

Just born
Reaction score
My goat has been acting pretty strange since yesterday afternoon. I noticed her laying down a lot which was the first sign that something's up. She's also super "lovely" with me and rubbing herself all over me which is very unusual for her. She's a little fidgety, walking and laying down many times over the day.

I noticed her walking with her tail up and her genitals, a little more swollen than usual. I have not noticed any obvious discharge. Normally I would attribute it to her being in heat but the way she's been acting makes me think it might be something else.

She is 12 or 11 months old and has been living with my buck and other doe, so there is the possibility that she might be pregnant. Thing is, I can't tell! She's a tiny thing and these are my first goats so I'm a total newbie. Today she seems calmer and not so antsy. I imagined it would be the opposite if she's possibly approaching labor.

Help, please?🙃

Attachments

• photo_2022-02-28_18-18-56.jpg
    photo_2022-02-28_18-18-56.jpg
    405.1 KB · Views: 90
  • photo_2022-02-28_18-19-09.jpg
    photo_2022-02-28_18-19-09.jpg
    337.6 KB · Views: 85
  • photo_2022-02-28_18-19-14.jpg
    photo_2022-02-28_18-19-14.jpg
    330.5 KB · Views: 89
  • photo_2022-02-28_18-19-20.jpg
    photo_2022-02-28_18-19-20.jpg
    357.5 KB · Views: 89

animalmom

Herd Master
Reaction score
Is she developing an udder? Have you checked her ligaments by the base of her tail... usually the ligs feel like pencils along side the tail, if it is squishy around the tail she may be loosing her ligs and getting ready to go into labor.

Your 2nd picture looks to me like her teats are more prominent that normal.

Your 3rd picture looks to me as if she is having some discharge (totally normal, don't panic).

Good luck with your wee goatie. What's her name?