assisting a difficult delivery

fireweed

Just born
Reaction score
Hi everybody, my name used to be freerangefreaks but I have had problems for a few weeks with my computer and haven't been able to post so I just started fresh.

Anyway, to get to the topic, my boerX doe was a couple of days over due and finally went into labour. The first kid was large but with a little help she managed to deliver a beautiful doeling. The second nose appeared and after about three sets of contractions I still could only see a nose so I felt for hoofs and nothing was there. I ran up to the house to get my vet book (I have no practical experience) and it said that this presentaion with the front hooves curled back required me to gentle push the kids head back just far enough to straighten out the feet. So that's what I did and the baby popped right out. Everything seemed fine for a couple of hours but the doe never passed the placenta. Some membranes were hanging so I left her like that until the next day (my book said up to 24 hours). Still after 24 hours it had not all been passed. Her temp went up and I did not know how to deal with metritis so I rushed her to the vet.

I know that assisting in the birth introduced bacteria and resulted in the infection so I'd like to avoid that in the future. How do you know when the doe needs help. Maybe some of you more experienced owners could go over problem presentations for us. What is you precautionary course of action when you have to assist?

Here are some pictures for you
anewborngoat.jpg

apairofnewborns.jpg

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Kittylove.gif

Did you scrub before you assisted? I have cattle but, with that presentation we would have had to assist too. Calves are suppose to come front feet first and then the nose also. I would have scrubbed up and then assisted.

fireweed

Just born
Reaction score
I scrubbed really good 'cause I knew I didn't have any gloves. I even cut my nails down to the quick.

helmstead