Bad Bunny!

jennhalgren

Just born
Reaction score
I'm new to this whole rabbit thing. about 2 months ago I got what I was told 2 bucks and 4 does. They were not well taken care of at all even for meat rabbits. I was told that 3 of the 4 does were due in two weeks after I got them. when I got all the rabbits home I waited a few days to let them adjust to the move. The first one to handle was suppose to be due in 2 weeks, not the case, no bunnies but she is the sweetest thing ever! I bring her inside to watch tv with me when my husband is out of town lol. She had ear mites and sore hocks so bad you could see her bone, she is almost healed. the next doe had 7 but they all died and then she stopped eating for about a week. my husband would cut grass for her and try everything to get her to eat and she seems fine now. The 3rd doe exploded from the neck. The 4th doe became dinner due to her attitude. The 2nd buck was friendly and was bred to one of my does (I saw it happen). when I took said buck out one day to trim "his" toes I noticed he was missing a few boy parts. It seemed as soon as we found out he was a she, she turned evil! I put her in with my 1 and only buck, (which I think he thinks a dog, he lays on he back for belly rubs) and they did the deed. Now if I do anything with 2 of my females I have to wear my cut proof tac gloves. My questions: Why are my does evil? Do does hump like bucks do? and should I wait to see if they have bunnies and then invite them to dinner or wait a bit longer?
Please help! If I knew they were not taken care of I might have not taken them :/

WhiteMountainsRanch

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Wow sorry you are having so much trouble with your bunnies! I would think the females are aggressive because females can get extremely territorial AND because they haven't been handled much. Can you spend a bit of time with each one every day brushing and giving treats and petting?

jennhalgren

Just born
Reaction score