Barn Types

rachels.haven

Herd Master
Reaction score
We're going to be getting a barn built for my goat herd. It's going to have at least three large stalls and a milk room and will need to have a loft for hay storage (might consider ground storage). Price gap between post and beam and pole barn types is pretty big BUT in your opinion, if you were us which should we go for? Also, what kind of flooring is best in your opinion? Any other tips?

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
My horse barn is a pole barn with a dirt floor. The feed and tack room is floored with 3/4" plywood. The sheep barn is just a roof off the side of a portable building, open on 3 sides.

Our climate difference leaves me unqualified to offer advice. While I deal with heat, you deal with cold that I have no experience with.

Well, here goes...... I love the post and beam, but this is not your forever home. Will it add value to your home in the amount that you spend? How long will you live there to enjoy this higher priced barn? Would post and beam appeal more than a pole barn to some snooty future buyer?

Flooring? Mine are dirt floors, but I am not milking goats or anything else for that matter. What are your choices? Concrete? That would be like a slab of ice in the winter, maybe you could put in radiant floor heating. Wood raised floor? You'd have to cover that with something pee-proof. Vinyl? I'm starting to like the post and beam idea with concrete floor with radiant heating....... :lol:

How popular is homesteading with goats, would you be building somebody's dream barn? Or would you have to come up with a secondary life for the barn as in converted to...... a wedding venue? Welding shop? Man cave?

rachels.haven

Herd Master
Reaction score