Best Age for Purchasing First Cattle?

arsmagic

Just born
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm brand new to both this forum and raising livestock, so excuse me if my terminology is incorrect. Everyone has to start somewhere, right?
I am no where near buying cattle yet, but I enjoy researching and thinking about my future in my spare time. One question has been bugging me for awhile. I stumbled upon this forum, and it seemed like a nice place to ask. Excuse me if I do something wrong here!

First, to get one thing out of the way- my plan is to raise purebred cattle as pets, as well as do some light breeding (to sell the calves as pets as well). My dream breeds would be Brahman or Highland cattle, but that doesn't really pertain to the question! (unless one of these breeds is perpetually unfriendly? I've heard good things about Highland, but Brahman tend to be skittish)

Raising them as pets is important to my question, which is: What is the best age to buy a cow at, in order to tame it? It might be easier to buy a calf to hand-raise how I'd like it, but then there are health risks and loneliness factors (I could get 2 to start, but that's an even bigger challenge). I would love to start with a mature heifer/cow, but I'd be afraid that she would not be as tame and friendly as I'd like. It's not easy to find hand-raised, pet cattle for sale in California.

I might be confusing you guys here, but I really wanted to put this question out there because when I try to Google this question, it's hard to find any information on pet cows (dairy cows might be considered pets, but I'd like to raise really friendly, family cows). It's important to me to start with a calm, outgoing mama.

I appreciate corrections when it comes to things I'm doing wrong, but please no rudeness :)
Thanks to any responses!

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score