Best fencing for pigs?

forester7

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have never done pigs before, but I have a lot of pasture land and would liek to try pasturing some next summer. What is the best way to fence? I am told just an electric polywire would work perfectly, but what kind of polywire is best? What height from the ground? What should I use for insulators and posts? Someone told me to use rebar?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Experimenting can be fun, but doing it right the first time is fun to me!

BaBaaHMonica

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I was hoping this one would have pages of answers LOL.

I am tossing about the idea of the moveable pig tractor setup vs electric rolled wire. On my searches so far, I have seen electric fencing with holes that are about 4x4 squares...is this a better option for pigs? does anyone have a fencing to contain the animals and a fence to hold them in case they escape?

We don't really want to be pig farmers, we just want enough for the table. I think 2 pigs to try would be a good start and see how it goes. I have been reading alot about Idaho pasture pigs and think they would be a good breed for raising on grass.
thanks you guys are amazing!

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score
Pigs can be kept in all sorts of fencing.... if they respect it. I do not like straight poly wire.... it doesn't seem to carry the charge as good. Any electric fencing needs to really give them a shock the very first time... to get their respect.
Have never kept them in electrified netting so that might work good if the fence is hot....