best season to raise pigs

burntmuch

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
This is my first year with pigs. Another mth or so & my freezer will be full:D . Im wondering if I should try raising a couple pigs in the fall as opposed to the spring. What are some of the pros & cons of each season. Sand fleas were a problem for me this year, also when it gets into the 80s the pigs dont seem to eat as much. What say you.

jeremypmc

Just born
Reaction score
Hi Burntmuch,

I am also raising pigs for the first time this year, so most of what I know came from a couple of books or this site. Depending on where in the country you are, on of the biggest costs to raising through the winter would be the additional cost of food because the pigs burn more energy trying to stay warm.

Do you have an automatic feeder for them? Have you noticed when its really warm outside that they sleep during the day and are more active at night?

burntmuch

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I havnt noticed their more active at night when it warm out. They could be though, its been real hot 85-90 degrees twice so far this spring. It seemed they didnt eat as much. Each time I wet there pen down real good so the would have some mud to wallow in. Then they would eat. I dont have an automatic feeder yet. Maybe for my next batch of pigs. I already spent too much this year on the pen.

ohiofarmgirl

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
so i'm guessing the reason you didnt get a ton of responses is that it probably depends:

* what you're gonna do with them
* where you live

if you are gonna home butcher - which just about anyone can do. its best to have them finished while the weather is still cold (needs to be below 40* at nite). if you take them to a butcher then i'm not sure it makes any difference unless you have extreme weather. but with the right tools pigs can make it thru just about any weather.