Best way to install water supply.....

dirkwood

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am only in the weekends at the farm.
What would you advice for an automatic watering system supply for a Steer and a Donkey ?
Ps: and where to buy it.we do have Tractor Supply in the area also.
AD

animalmom

Herd Master
Reaction score
Do you already have water on site or are you bringing water in with you? If you have water on site: a well, or water pipes, then you could get a small stock tank and a float valve and some hose... the first two are definitely available at Tractor Supply, and the steer and donkey would have water available all the time.

If you are bringing in water when you come that may be more of a problem... but one thing at a time.

treeclimber233

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Even if you do not have water "on site" as long as you have a roof -with or without gutters- you could put rain barrels under the eves and catch rain water. I have been doing this for several years and need very little well water at the barn. A hose and a float will work with this system too. Just connect all the barrels and go for it.

dirkwood

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I have a water outlet with a hose connection sticking out the ground about 10-15 feet away from my shade feed stall canopy but outside of the fence of the pasture. I could use a hose or dig a pipe to there. What sort/brand float valve would you recommend and are they trust worthy and reliable?How big of a stock tank would you suggest?

AD

animalmom

Herd Master
Reaction score
Float valves seem to come in two varieties... metal hose connector and plastic hose connector. We have found that the metal ones, which cost a few dollars more, last longer in the Texas sun. Our experience is that eventually the plastic connector fails and you end up with a fountain shooting into the air... not a good thing if it happens on Monday night and you don't find out until Saturday morning... lots of wasted water.