BOSS, Red Cell, Kelp, Cloves questions

goodgirlmolly

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I'm new to BYH & have read about some really interesting things including:
BOSS - where & what brand do you buy? Can you find organic?
Red Cell - what's this? How is it administered?
Kelp - has anyone used it mixed in with free choice minerals?
Cloves for worming - cool! Powder? Tincture? Baked in a cookie?
I'd love to try it in conjunction with my Molly's.
Thanks in advance:)

AlaskanShepherdess

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
The only thing I can say anything about is that I'm currently testing to see if kelp (Thorvin brand, so far the best that I have seen and the cheapest for me) is a good stand alone mineral source. My goats LOVE it, and they eat it with no trouble at all. This morning I mixed it with their grain and some DE. They still slurped it down, before I had been giving it just plain. I think I should be giving it free choice, but I'm afraid of how much they would eat! They always beg for more, and literally lick the bowl spotless.

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
BOSS - I just buy whatever brand is at TSC. Found it to be the cheapest in my area

Red Cell - is an Iron supplement in liquid formula that you can get at TSC in the horse section, never used it so not sure on dose or anything

Kelp - haven't tried it, I use Sweetlix Meatmaker loose goat mineral for my goats and that seems to be working well for them

Cloves - powder is fine, not sure if you should use it in conjunction with Molly's herbs though.

goodgirlmolly

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Thanks so much for the info! My guys love kelp too but it is expensive so for now they get free choice mins and I add kelp to their weekly "Molly's".
Have a great day, guys! Thanks again;)

freemotion

Self Sufficient Queen
Reaction score