Timonlionking

Just born
Reaction score
I am in need of some advice!

I am totally new to sheep, I have three bottle babies. They are currently in the house. I originally planned on getting just one, but then I learned they’re herd animals, so in comes ewe #2, then before I picked them up, a ram lamb was born, that I just couldn’t pass up, SO 3 lambs. In the house.

I do have a barn, with electric and a heat lamp, but I have a few concerns I’m hoping you guys can help me out with.

1.) Our temps aren’t supposed to get above 20° for a week or two, and the lows are into the negative, lowest being -4°. Will they be okay with a heat lamp in our barn?
2.) A heat lamp in the barn concerns me. I don’t want to burn my barn down, is this safe? What’s the best options for placement, or even other options for keeping them warm.

The younger two are 1 week, the older one is 2 weeks. The attached picture is the temps for this coming week.

Attachments

• BA1FB6F8-3122-4354-99E2-CD059E913FD8.jpeg
    BA1FB6F8-3122-4354-99E2-CD059E913FD8.jpeg
    84.4 KB · Views: 110

SA Farm

Herd Master
Reaction score
I would imagine as long as they’re out of the wind and have nice deep bedding, they’ll snuggle up together and be just fine in the barn.
I’ve heard of lambs in much colder temps born outside thriving...but I probably wouldn’t be comfortable with that for my own spoiled babies lol especially bottle babies.
I used a heat lamp for my bottle babies. I had it high up with a few different things holding it so it could not touch anything even if the clamp and tie gave out.
If you’re really uncomfortable with a heat lamp, you could put little sweaters or dog coats on them for the cold nights.

I’m fairly new to sheep myself, but that’s what I’ve done/would do/or have heard of others doing 😊

Alaskan

Herd Master
Reaction score