Breed Recommendations

Wehner Homestead

Herd Master
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to BYH. We live on 42 acres in S IN. Our predators are coyotes, the black buzzards (the ones that will kill live animals), roaming dogs, opossum, skunks, raccoons, and the occasional rodent. We do know that the occasional bear, mountain lion, and bobcat has been spotted around us. We've lived here for 8 years now and had a LGD the majority of that time. We raise, Nigerian Dwarf Goats, show Cattle, feeder pigs, chicken for meat and eggs, and have 2 horses, several pet dogs, and barn cats. We also have three young children.

We started with a GP male, Logan. He was wonderful! He slept on the porch and watched the whole farm (people and animals.) This was his domain and people didn't get out of vehicles and we watched him physically run coyotes off the farm once. He was very loving and hugs were his fave. I could never do the hands off! He was four and had to be put down due to a torn ligament in his knee that was going to require a painful surgery and extensive recovery. I couldn't put him through that pain and keep him in a cage. He would've hated it. I miss him dearly. While he was still young, we wanted a farm dog/sidekick for him that might also help with herding and rodent control. We got an English shepherd dog, Lana. They were inseparable. They were always together and made an amazing team. She's been depressed since Logan passed almost four years ago. We also discovered that she's deathly terrified by storms and gun shots after he died.