Breeding LaMancha doelings-lots of questions!

Araylee

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
This is my first year with goats, I got two doelings in June, and I'm wondering when to breed them! I was shooting for this fall/winter if they can put on enough weight. The older girl was born in late February and is still quite a bit larger than her half-sister (born in late March). I was told that the mother of the younger one was slow-maturing and to expect her to take a while to round out *but that it would be worth the wait!* She has a nice arch to her udder and you can see the width in her escutcheon (is that the right term?) compared to her sister who is bigger! The younger just went through her first heat cycle a couple of days ago (Calling, tail wagging, and a little vaginal discharge) and I haven't seen signs of heat in the older. The second day of her heat, I went outside to check on the girls and the little one actually looked deflated-I was HORRIFIED at how SKINNY she looked compared to her normal ruminating self! The next day all was well again, so I guess she was just off her feed from being in heat, but I was definitely suprised!
Is October going to be too early to breed the big 'un? (she would be 8 months at the end of the month.) I don't want to breed them when they are TOO small, but I definitely want milk next spring-it's the whole reason we bought dairy goats! *grin* So, for those that breed your dairy goats the first year, do you breed by age, or always by weight? And, if I use my sewing tape ;) is there a "weight conversion" somewhere online that I can use?