Can you ACTUALLY make money on raising beef cattle?

rd200

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Okay, so I am a Dairy farmer at heart, grew up on a Farm. When I was young, we had steers, then pigs, then finally my dad got into Dairy farming. Anyways, I showed beef cattle for 4-h a few years and loved them. So now i want to start raising some beef cattle. Im married, have a young family, currently work on a farm. I want to quit my job (secondary income) and go full fledged self-sufficient gardener, farmer, etc. I am still trying to decide on a good Milk cow (ideally dual-purpose) but havent decided on that yet. But i am trying to concentrate on whether or not we can actually make money on beef cattle. Im not talking about LOADS of MOOLA.... just enough to make it worth it and to convince my hubby that it is a good idea. I have some breeds narrowed down (for now) i was thinking Scottish Highlands, Galloways, or Red polls for now. Maybe Devons too. I am planning on grass feeding and hay in the winter. So from late October until May I am going to be feeding hay. I was trying to figure out how much hay cow/calf will be eating, how much the hay will cost, other expenses, etc. Geez..... Im not so sure I WILL make any money!!! I guess it depends on how quickly and if i can get rid of the calves, when i get rid of them, if im selling for breeding stock, raising to market weight, raising to sell as halves and quarters....etc. Im not planning on going BIG. Maybe ill stick with 1 or possibly 2 breeds, but no more than 5 or 6 cows. And no bull, Ill AI them.