Cattle questions

Foxmanor

Just born
Reaction score
I’m new to cattle and it’s so hard to find info on feeding just 1-2. If I was a commercial dairy or beef operation I’d know exactly what and how to feed, lol. To make it even more difficult no local feed stores carry cattle feed, the one will make it but only in bulk which isn’t feasible for me. I’m basically guessing on what to feed my girl (educated guesses) She’s 8 months now and was a bottle baby. I was also confused about her breeding. I know her mother was an Amish farm Holstein but I swear the guy said he bred all his to angus, but when I responded “so she’s angus x Holstein, then?” He said she was Holstein. It was confusing. Does she look like an angus cross? Also how is her body condition? Her coat seems weird to me. At 2 days old was like plush velvet, different then all the other calves. An old time dairy man told me her coat was that way because she was premature. She was wobbly for about her first week of life, but ate fine and was healthy otherwise. I don’t know if he was just talking or if that’s a real thing. Her coat now it’s starting to plush up and get really thick but it’s also long in spots and not thick at all, mostly at the top. is that normal or am I feeding her wrong?
67BA05BD-721E-4D0D-9F96-09E785725CC6.jpeg
5F8FBC1A-E649-45A0-AD4A-DFC272FA70E8.jpeg
15D56EF5-F227-4BD1-8FC9-CD09E7CDADED.jpeg
A0248558-6530-4389-BB95-5E0A759220A7.jpeg
D6F74DF8-5291-4349-9984-18687CD6EB7A.jpeg

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome :welcome here....
Couple of things. First, she is not an angus x holstein. 99.9% angus x are black, mostly black with some white under the belly, tail, feet, etc. She is straight holstein.
I am assuming that you are hoping to milk her ???? She will way overproduce what you can use unless you have a BIG family. But, you can raise an extra calf or 2, feed extra to pigs, make cheese and all sorts of other stuff.
Her hair coat looks fine....normal looking from the pictures.