Children and new goats

Talithahorse

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Okay, so I am brand new to goats as we have just brought home 3 little pigmy goats. Two doelings and a buckling (soon to be whether) all about 4 1/2 mo old. They are for my children who are 11 and 15 years old. My son (10) has chosen the buckling as his own, my daughter one of the doelings. What ideas, suggestions, "no no's" etc. for helping them with training, feeding etc.

So far as far as feeding, they are getting good quality burmuda grass hay at all times, then about 1 cup of goat feed (Purina brand I think), free choice loose minerals and then the kids are providing them with privet cuttings and other approved treats. The goats get their goat food only when we are there (encourage interaction). The kids have been instructed to sit down on a bucket and spend time with them (supervised of course). They have also been told to keep their faces away from the horns and to not pet them near the horns. We have put collars on them and have just begun putting a lead rope and teaching them to give to the pressure, which they are just starting to figure out. (for all you horse people out there I am using my Perelli training).

I have trained horses, dogs, birds,etc so I am not new to animals in general but I am sure that goats are somewhat different and that is what I am trying to learn.