Cobalt deficiency - thoughts?

Ferguson K

Herd Master
Reaction score
There has been a lot of chatter lately about thin goats and goats with white lids, we had the same problem with some recently. I'll go into more detail later.

I recently stumbled upon a very knowledgable bet that has many years experience raising and dealing with goats.

We talked in detail about mine.

It's easier for me to vocalize tha it is to type. I'm not very good at putting wording together as it comes to me.

Anyways she mentioned that we were in an area deficient in cobalt. Cobalt deficiency symptoms include, but are not limited to, weight and appetite loss, loss of hair coat, energy loss, anemia, and much more. In goats at least.

We ordered cobalt bolusand crammed the recommended doses down the throats of the goats looking bad but had good fecals.

In a matter of DAYS the four affected goats have begun eating better and putting on weight. They have more energy. They're looking healthier. I would have never thought of this.

Anyone else hear of this?

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
I know that cobalt can affect the flavor of milk, but I didn't know about the rest. I guess I should add a cobalt block and see if they are interested and if it helps with their coat. No idea if I am in a deficient area or not.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
@Ferguson K Did you just find another way for me to spend money on my goats? ;) I did some reading on a site that sells individual minerals and mixes and found this.

https://www.abcplus.biz/categories17.aspx?Id=Sheep_Goats_Minerals_TS-K-Mix

Cobalt is needed to enable rumen bacteria to synthesize Vitamin B12. Cobalt deficiency causes loss of appetite, weakness, anemia, decrease in fertility, and lowered milk production.

I have been meaning to try these minerals so maybe now is the time.

Ferguson K

Herd Master
Reaction score
Out here we're high in sulfur.