Conditioning and keeping weight on lionhead show rabbits

Kirsten miller

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi y'all!
So I've been raising rabbits for 15 years (minirex) and they were so easy to care for I have unlimited hay and pretty much food and everything was great I never had any issues. This year I decided to start raising lionheads and oh boy I'm going through trouble! I have 3 juniors and a senior brood doe that just don't eat enough, water is always there and I always make sure the bottles are working I give hay not everyday but they get it every few days (I used to feed unlimited hay and cut that because I thought that was the culperate) i also worm and don't believe in Giving any snacks, I feed blue seal show hutch deluxe I used to feed manna pro show and I was having issues with bloat which has since cleared up. I'm really hoping it isn't my feed because i feel like I've tried everything my other guys eat well and seem perfectly healthy. Your input with how you show condition your lionheads would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks!

Pastor Dave

Herd Master
Reaction score
I don't have Lion Heads, but keeping my NZW's at show weight, I use a 16% protein, alfalfa based pellet at abt a cup and a half a day for seniors. Juniors get free-fed.
They also get Calf Mana that's abt 29% protein. 1 tsp for seniors, 1Tb for lactating moms, and approx 2 Tb for grow-outs and juniors. I don't do much treats, but do 1 tsp of black oil sunflower seeds, BOSS per bunny each day. It's good fiber, gives good coat shine, etc.
I also give fresh red clover to the seniors occasionally and some rose petals every great once in a while as a treat.

There's plenty of others on here that can help.
@Bunnylady is my go to

DutchBunny03

Loving the herd life
Reaction score