Confused Rabbit - False Pregnancy?

Yuriy

Herd lurker
Reaction score
I am new to breading rabbits (and this forum) and need advice. One of my does (a meat mutt with some giant breed mix) failed to birth a litter after being bred. This is her first breeding at about 1 y.o. She seemed to be "acting pregnant" (gained weight, flopped on her side when resting, made a nest). I did not palpate as I was not sure what to look for. She made an awesome nest with a TON of fur which she started pulling about day 26.Then day 35 came and went and no litter.

So yesterday we rebred her on what would have been day 36. No problems breeding, did not fight or run, just laid down and let the buck do his thing.

The problem: This morning she is at it again trying to build a nest, pulling fur and all. Any ideas what is going on with her? Do you think this was a false pregnancy or did she reabsorb the litter for some reason? Could the proximity of another doe and her litter in the next hutch be causing her to keep nesting?

I welcome any ideas or suggestions, if she keeps up with the fur pulling I will have a hairless rabbit.

Bunnylady

Herd Master
Reaction score
If she didn't produce anything by day 35, you're pretty safe assuming that there was nothing to produce. Does can do some weird things regarding length of pregnancy, but if she had actually been pregnant, it's extremely unlikely that she would have let the buck breed her yesterday. Does pull fur for several reasons; I'm thinking your girl is just reacting to a high hormone level. I'm kind of on the fence between thinking that she settled yesterday, and thinking maybe try her again today just to be sure . . . .:idunno